RolePlaying Unlocked! The Potential of Cross Realm Zones

As we look forward to the expansion and the new features it will bring, such as cross realm zones it also will bring more possible play-style opportunities.

I’m a role-player that rolled onto the wrong server to start.

I should have never started on a ‘normal’ realm. It’s one of those things I’d take back if I could about the game. I’m not going to shell out the money now to move all my characters though. It’d be financially irresponsible.*

The FAQ states:

Q. How will this work for PvP vs. PvE realms? Will these realm types be shared?
No. Realm types will be matched with like realm types. So if you’re on a PvE realm, you’ll only be matched with other PvE realms. The same rules will apply for matching RP realm types and will be restricted to matching RP-PvP with RP-PvP and RP-PvE with RP-PvE. We plan to keep an eye on constructive feedback while testing this new technology.

So there goes that random musing… for the most part. As I’ve come across in random dungeons, RP seems lightly tolerated most of the time there, so why not bring a little bit to the “normals” that I won’t see again?

Most of the time the “RP” I’m referring to are macros tied to the casting of spells (like Time Warp) so that the group knows I just popped it but if I’m not likely to meet some of these people again on my server why not have as much fun as possible with them? I also feel like I’m wearing my character though each time I switch toons.

My mage likes his drink, my druid quietly heals, my gnome cracks sarcastic jokes… it all seems to fit well.

So that’s my plan at least when the cross realms begin. Hopefully one of these days free transfers will be offered off of Zangarmarsh to a RP realm, but until that time I’ll slowly try to bring the light of RP into a Normal and hope for the best.

-FF

*For those wondering, I’d potentially need $750 to transfer all the characters from Zangarmarsh to a RP realm… and then I wouldn’t be guaranteed to find a strong RP guild… so why spend that kind of money?

This entry was posted in Roleplaying and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

